GAIA-X: Fraunhofer is a key player in building a federal data infrastructure for Europe

European Association for Data and Cloud

An open data infrastructure on the basis of which data can be shared securely and confidently in accordance with European values: This is the goal of the so-called GAIA-X AISBL, which already has around 180 organizations from 15 different European countries as members. In an open and transparent digital ecosystem, GAIA-X aims to make data available, bring it together and share it confidentially, and to offer related services. The goal: to enable new digital business models in order to strengthen Europe as a business location in the long term.

A lot of preparatory work has already been done for this ambitious project: For example, the "International Data Spaces", which have already found their way into the economy under the Fraunhofer research flag, will make a substantial contribution to GAIA-X. They form the standard for "data in use", i.e. for the way in which data is exchanged. As interim CTO (until march 2021) of GAIA-X, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Boris Otto, Director of the Fraunhofer ISST, will continue to play a key role in shaping the technical design of GAIA-X.

In an Interview:

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Boris Otto, Director of the Fraunhofer ISST and Interim CTO (until march 2021) of GAIA-X AISBL

 

What is GAIA-X?

GAIA-X is the European answer to how collaboration between companies can work on the data level. In the distributed value chains that we see in the economy today and will see even more in the future, data must be exchanged between companies. However, this is a very sensitive issue for the economy. There must therefore be a framework for secure and fair data sharing where the data provider retains control over what happens to its data. GAIA-X creates this framework.
 

So is GAIA-X a kind of European cloud for exchanging data?

GAIA-X is not a European cloud, but an organization that sets the European standard for clouds. At the moment, the market for cloud services is being dominated by African providers. With GAIA-X, we want to set a standard for cloud platforms that meets our European values - openness, transparency, in-teroperability and trust - and fits our business models.

 

Why does an infrastructure for sharing data have to exist at all?

In an economic development characterized by distributed value networks, there is a business necessity for companies to share data. Modern products and services are created by the interaction of several players. In principle, things are no different here than at a good party: everyone has to bring something to make it a success.

 

What is the current status?

At GAIA-X there is considerable enthusiasm, a very active community and we have now created the most important structures. The almost 180 organizations that are already part of GAIA-X, most of them come from 15 European countries. The interest is great!

However, the process of certifying whether services are GAIA-X-compliant still needs some time. But we will see the first certified GAIA-X applications such as Mobility, Industry 4.0, Healthcare, Energy, Finance and Aerospace in the middle of next year.

 

Is GAIA-X profit-oriented?

GAIA-X does not have its own profit-oriented business model. I think it would be completely wrong for us to influence business models that are developing in the market. GAIA-X virtually sets the road traffic regulations, but freight forwarders and bus companies are supposed to drive on the roads.

 

Why are corporations outside Europe among the founding members of the GAIA-X Foundation?

We don't want to shut ourselves off in Europe, but rather let everyone play along who adheres to the rules of the game in our country. In this respect, it is of secondary importance where a cloud provider has its headquarters. What is important is that they adhere to our standards. Everyone who wants to do business with us in Europe must comply with the Cloud Act defined in GAIA-X. But we also see a serious and constructive interest on the part of international providers in doing so.

 

Are companies already willing and able to share their data?

Many companies first have to do a kind of housekeeping with their data, because they often don't even know what data they have and how they can make it available internally and externally. Data management is not for IT nerds, but must be approached as a corporate function in the same way as product development or human resources management. Only then can data-driven business models be implemented efficiently and successfully.

 

Are companies already willing and able to share their data?

Many companies have to do a kind of housekeeping with their data, because they often don't even know what data they have and how they can make it available internally and externally. Data management is not for IT nerds, but must be approached as a corporate function in the same way as product development or human resources management. Only then can data-driven business models be implemented efficiently and successfully.

 

What contribution does Fraunhofer, and in particular its work on International Data Spaces, make to GAIA-X?

The International Data Spaces, on which the International Data Spaces Association (ID-SA) and Fraunhofer have been working together for five years, regulate the handling of data when it is used (data-in-use), because the IDS architecture is used to exchange the conditions of use for data when data is exchanged between companies. This provides the terms and conditions for data economy.

Until now, however, the question of data storage (data-in-rest) was still open in the case of data sovereignty. This changes with GAIA-X. Decentrally structured data rooms like GAIA-X are technically more complex than if there were a large pot for data storage in the middle. But they are necessary to create trust. We are very pleased to have been a member of the first hour and to be able to solve this important task together with GAIA-X's many partners, in order to make the European economy fit for the future in the field of data economy.

GAIA-X: Fraunhofer ist Key-Player beim Bau einer föderalen Dateninfrastruktur für Europa

European Association for Data and Cloud

Eine offene Dateninfrastruktur, auf deren Basis Daten sicher und souverän nach europäischen Werten geteilt werden können: Das ist das Ziel der sogenannten GAIA-X AISBL (in Gründung), der heute schon rund 180 Organisationen aus 15 verschiedenen europäischen Ländern angehören. In einem offenen und transparenten digitalen Ökosystem will GAIA-X Daten zur Verfügung stellen, zusammenführen und vertrauensvoll teilen sowie dazugehörende Dienste anbieten. Das Ziel: neue digitale Geschäftsmodelle zu ermöglichen, um den Wirtschaftsstandort Europa langfristig zu stärken.

Eine Menge Vorarbeit für dieses ehrgeizige Projekt wurde bereits geleistet: So werden die »International Data Spaces«, die unter Fraunhofer-Forschungsflagge bereits ihren Einzug in die Wirtschaft gehalten haben, ein substanzieller Beitrag für GAIA-X sein. Sie bilden den Standard für »Data in use«, also für die Art und Weise, wie Daten ausgetauscht werden. Als Interims-CTO von GAIA-X wird Prof. Dr.-Ing. Boris Otto, Institutsleiter am Fraunhofer ISST, die technische Ausgestaltung von GAIA-X auch weiterhin maßgeblich prägen.

Im Interview:

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Boris Otto, Institutsleiter am Fraunhofer ISST und Interims-CTO der GAIA-X AISBL

 

Was ist GAIA-X?

GAIA-X ist die europäische Antwort darauf, wie die Zusammenarbeit von Unternehmen auf Datenebene funktionieren kann. In den verteilten Wertschöpfungsketten, die wir heute in der Wirtschaft sehen und in Zukunft noch stärker sehen werden, müssen Daten zwischen Unternehmen ausgetauscht werden. Dies ist jedoch für die Wirtschaft eine sehr sensible Angelegenheit. Es muss daher einen Rahmen für eine sichere und faire gemeinsame Datennutzung geben, bei der der Datengeber die Kontrolle darüber behält, was mit seinen Daten geschieht. Diesen Rahmen schafft GAIA-X.


Ist GAIA-X also eine Art europäische Cloud zum Austausch von Daten?

GAIA-X ist keine europäische Cloud, sondern eine Organisation, die den europäischen Standard für Clouds setzt. Zurzeit wird der Markt für Cloud-Dienstleistungen durch amerikanische Anbieter dominiert. Wir wollen mit GAIA-X einen Standard für Cloud-Plattformen festlegen, der unseren europäischen Werten – Offenheit, Transparenz, Interoperabilität und Vertrauen – gerecht wird und zu unseren Geschäftsmodellen passt.


Warum muss es überhaupt eine Infrastruktur für das Teilen von Daten geben?

In einer ökonomischen Entwicklung, die von verteilten Wertschöpfungsnetzwerken geprägt ist, gibt es eine betriebswirtschaftliche Notwendigkeit für Unternehmen, Daten zu teilen. Moderne Produkte und Dienstleistungen entstehen durch ein Zusammenspiel mehrerer Player. Im Prinzip läuft es hier nicht anders als bei einer guten Party: Jeder muss etwas mitbringen, damit sie ein Erfolg wird.


Wie ist denn der aktuelle Status?

Es gibt bei GAIA-X einen beachtlichen Enthusiasmus, eine sehr aktive Community und wir haben nun die wichtigsten Strukturen geschaffen. Die fast 180 Organisationen, die schon heute bei GAIA-X dabei sind, stammen zum größten Teil aus 15 Ländern Europas. Das Interesse ist groß!

Das Verfahren zur Zertifizierung, ob Dienste GAIA-X-konform sind, braucht aber noch etwas Zeit. Aber wir werden Mitte nächsten Jahres die ersten zertifizierten GAIA-X-Anwendungen wie beispielsweise Mobility, Industrie 4.0, Healthcare, Energy, Finance und Aerospace sehen.


Ist GAIA-X gewinnorientiert?

GAIA-X hat kein eigenes, profitorientiertes Geschäftsmodell. Ich glaube, es wäre völlig falsch, wenn wir Einfluss auf Geschäftsmodelle nehmen würden, die sich am Markt entwickeln. GAIA-X setzt quasi die Straßenverkehrsordnung, auf den Straßen fahren sollen dann aber Speditionen und Busunternehmen.


Warum gehören auch Konzerne außerhalb Europas zu den Gründungsmitgliedern der GAIA-X Foundation?

Wir wollen uns in Europa nicht abschotten, sondern jeden mitspielen lassen, der sich an die bei uns geltenden Spielregeln hält. Insofern ist es zweitrangig, wo ein Cloudanbieter seinen Hauptsitz hat. Wichtig ist, dass er sich an unsere Standards hält. Dem in GAIA-X definierten Cloud Act müssen sich alle unterwerfen, die mit uns in Europa Geschäfte machen wollen. Wir sehen hier aber auch ein ernsthaftes und konstruktives Interesse internationaler Anbieter, dies zu tun.


Sind die Unternehmen denn schon bereit und in der Lage, ihre Daten zu teilen?

Viele Unternehmen müssen in Bezug auf ihre Daten erstmal eine Art Housekeeping betreiben, denn sie wissen oft gar nicht, welche Daten sie überhaupt haben und wie sie diese intern wie extern verfügbar machen können. Datenmanagement ist nichts für IT-Nerds, sondern muss genau so als Unternehmensfunktion angegangen werden wie die Produktentwicklung oder die Personalwirtschaft. Nur dann können datengetriebene Geschäftsmodelle effizient und erfolgreich umgesetzt werden.
 

Welchen Beitrag leisten Fraunhofer und hier insbesondere die Arbeiten zu den International Data Spaces für GAIA-X?

Die International Data Spaces, an denen die International Data Spaces Association (IDSA) gemeinsam mit Fraunhofer seit fünf Jahren arbeiten, regeln den Umgang von Daten, wenn sie genutzt werden (Data-in-use), denn mithilfe der IDS-Architektur werden bei unternehmensübergreifendem Datenaustausch die Nutzungsbedingungen für die Daten mit ausgetauscht. Das liefert die AGBs für die Datenökonomie.

Bisher war bei Datensouveränität allerdings die Frage der Speicherung der Daten (Data-in-rest) noch offen. Das ändert sich mit GAIA-X. Dezentral aufgebaute Datenräume wie GAIA-X sind technisch komplexer, als wenn es einen großen Topf für die Datenhaltung in der Mitte gibt. Sie sind aber notwendig, um Vertrauen zu schaffen. Wir freuen uns sehr, als Mitglied der ersten Stunde diese wichtige Aufgabe nun gemeinsam mit den vielen Partnern von GAIA-X zu lösen, um die europäische Wirtschaft im Bereich der Datenökonomie zukunftsfähig aufzustellen.